top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Conversations with China

I know I really need to make these into Tik Tok videos, but I'm just not the actress that many of my favorite accounts on Tik Tok are. However, whenever I see a video from one of my favorites, Devinoutwest, where she pretends to be various horses in her herd, I'm always reminded of China.


Libby said to me the other day that she thinks of China as being stoic and hard to read. It showed me that you have to spend a lot of time with a horse before you can learn to read some of them because China is an open book to me.


Example. I was on my drive this morning and imagining a conversation with China. I would love to ask China if she loves anyone. I feel like I can envision this conversation.


Me, "Sheesh China, don't you love anyone but yourself?"

China, adjusting her crown, "what does this word mean - love?"

Me, "well Google defines love as an intense feeling of deep affection or a great interest or pleasure in something."

China, "Oh yes. Then I love the grain. Hay is okay, but I love the grain."

Me, "not a thing China, like another horse or a person or something like that."

China, looking around confused, "I do not love the other horses. They eat some of the grain. I do not like sharing the grain."

Me, secretly hoping she will admit she loves me the most, "you must have a person then that you love."

China, not pausing for a second, "well..... I love when the people bring the grain. That is a very good thing. I definitely love the people bringing the grain."

Me, throwing my hands up in frustration, "I'm talking about me, China. Don't you love me?! I have been your person for 7 years now. We've been through a lot together. We've been through sicknesses and lessons, hot days and cold days. We've won ribbons, buckles and saddles together. You're my heart horse! Don't you love ME?"

She thinks for a minute, raising my hopes...and then she says thoughtfully, "I love when you bring the grain? Does that count?"


In all seriousness, she may not be the cuddliest, lovey dovey type pony. But she puts up with my hugs and I wouldn't trade her royal highness for anything.




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page