top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

End of the Show Season Reflections

Well, we officially finished our show season for 2022. The trailer is unloaded, unpacked and ready for storage. In some ways it was a long season. Example - I cannot believe it was just this year that I was showing Kisses at the first show. That feels like a long time ago. Congress also feels like a whole different lifetime. However, in other ways it flew by. I truly cannot believe it is the end of October and it was time to winterize the trailer already.


One of my favorite memories of the year is from Congress. The previous year Sophie and I had gotten in a pretty good argument. Things were skating along really well this year and then we got in an argument on the last day. Tim angrily/sternly said "Knock it off. We aren't starting this now." Which, if you have ever met Tim, is totally out of character for him. In fact we were both so surprised at his "angry" voice, that Sophie and I dissolved into laughter at Tim trying to be stern. I guess he effectively stopped our argument because we switched to making fun of poor Tim and his "putting his foot down". I'm literally smiling as I type about this story, it still makes me smile.


I also have personal proud moments from Congress. I still can't believe we won both our English equitation classes. I was so nervous for that hand gallop and not only did I nail it in my eyes, one judge gave me a 97. I still cannot believe that. All +2 or +3 across the score sheet. I don't think I will ever top that in my life. Being reserve high point non pro walk trot at Congress also ranks up there as a high point for the season.


Let's see - oh yes! The IA western pleasure futurity class. Elsie knocked that one out of the park as well and I won my first ever futurity class. So that was a goal achieved that I didn't think I would.


But more than class wins, I think a major highlight were some of the things I learned this year. I learned more about showing one handed. We took lessons from a knowledgeable trainer and judge in Pam Whitfield. She taught us a ton about how things are scored and what judges are looking for. She taught me how to hand gallop and how to work on getting our ponies' front ends up and lifted. She taught us how to improve our equitation, horsemanship and showmanship and so much more. I can't even think of all the things we learned in just a few lessons. I learned about new classes to me like ranch riding - so much fun and I am still thankful that they don't have cows in POA. I learned a lot of products that do not get yellow out of a mane/forelock. (For the record, I still did not learn of any products that DO get yellow out of mane/forelock but will definitely thin one.) We learned about some new locations; showing at 3 new to us facilities this year. I figured out a few new things about POA as far as rules and classes go. I learned how to hand gallop! (And had to do it 3 different times in patterns this year. Seriously, enough with the hand galloping already. :)


I also learned a lot about other people this year. I should say, I was reminded of lessons I had learned earlier in life but had forgotten. Sometimes our "friends" don't want us to win and aren't cheering us on from the sidelines. I had friends that supported me and cheered me on to victory and friends that were happy when they beat me or wanted me to lose. I had to remind myself this year that not everyone is rooting for me to win and that's okay. I had to remind myself this year to accept people for who they are, not who I wish they were. I had to remind myself that competition makes me better and work harder. Those people that are hoping for me to fail are actually helping me succeed. I made a new circle around my family. I was reminded that new circles are okay and sometimes even great. We made new friends and reconnected with old friends. My very favorite part about horse showing is the people.


Lastly I learned the heartache that goes into letting your beloved pony move on to the next best thing. I learned that it can be both the most rewarding experience and yet one of the hardest things you have had to do. I learned the pride of watching a pony I trained go on to be a young girl's dream come true. I learned that letting go can be every bit as hard as starting over (and that the two are very often connected).


This past year will go down in my memory books as one of my all time favorites for horse showing. I had an amazing pony, maybe the pony of a lifetime. I had a supportive husband who stuck by me through all the new shows and classes. I got to spend 2022 with one of my daughters at every single show and Elsie helped me achieve many life long goals I thought were impossible. I made new friends that I hope are for a lifetime and ate a lot of really good Mexican food. (It's a horse show tradition!) 2022 is going to be a tough act to follow, but let's see what next year brings!






40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page