top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Get a project = get perspective

Last week I was working on transitions (for the millionth time) with Elsie. Working on getting those transitions up or down to flow perfectly. Wanting her to transition with just my body language or maybe a slight voice cue. Wanting her to keep her body in the correct position during the whole thing - and of course I got frustrated. So then we worked on lead changes. We are working toward faster simple lead changes. Fewer strides between switching from one lead to the next. Being more precise where those changes happen. And of course - I got frustrated. She was doing great. She was being a rock star, but just not perfect. So we found good places to reward and then we decided to call it a day.


Fast forward to Saturday when I went down to pick up my new project pony. She's a project in that she was halter broke as a weanling and then turned out to grow up and being a pony for the next 3 years. She has had minimal human interaction, but good minded. She had to be chased into the trailer, but once in the trailer it only took me around 15 minutes of approach and retreat before I had a halter and drag rope on her. Then we had our first halter breaking lesson later that evening. I'm an idiot and forgot she hadn't been asked to lead in 3 years. For those kinds of lessons is best to wear gloves - even when working in a small pen like we were. Let's just say the rope burn, blisters and bloodied hands reminded me right quick. After putting gloves over the blood and getting right back to it - 10 minutes later I got two forward steps out of her and called it a day.



When I went to ride Elsie later, I had a whole new perspective. Suddenly I appreciated her so much more. I marveled at how she led quietly next to me. I hugged her for riding off in a nice slow jog. I patted her for stopping because I was so thankful for how good she is and how far we have come. I appreciated my broke pony a thousand times more than I had the ride before. Even when she struggled or didn't get something right - I would correct her with a laugh and a smile because, let's be honest, she wasn't trying to kill me so that's a win. I had to smile when I dismounted as I thought to myself, "it's funny how getting a new project had entirely changed my perspective on riding a broke pony."


Which brings me to my last thought on this. I'm lucky that I have been able to start so many ponies from the ground up over the years. I should remember and appreciate what it takes to make a broke pony because I personally know the blood, sweat and tears (really - LITERALLY blood, sweat and tears) that go into getting a pony from throwing themselves on the ground for halter breaking to flying lead changes, counter canter and pivots. If you're not lucky enough to have started your own, maybe shoot that former owner or trainer and email or even a card and thank them for their work. I know people will say "I paid for a broke horse, I don't have to say thank you." Well, a little kindness always goes a long way and let me tell you - no amount of money you paid really covers all that the trainer goes through to bring that pony from feral to fabulous.


But an even better idea, to really get that perspective, get a project of your own to bring along. You will learn so much about how the equine mind works, how your own mind works and mindfulness. Ah yes - mindfulness, because you have to be completely focused on your task or see - with young projects - you die. ;) You will learn to appreciate your broke horse. You will see just how long it takes to get that pony to do even the simplest task like, trot in a straight line or stop and back. You will also feel the overwhelming sense of success for the smallest accomplishments because YOU did that. Someone once told me that ribbons give an equestrian confidence. For me ribbons don't do that. Ribbons are just an opinion. What gives me confidence is taking a pony that doesn't lead and turning them into a riding partner. It's a long process and Smoothie and I are just starting. I'll let you know how she does as she starts at feral but I know she will be fabulous in time.




29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page