top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Husband For Sale

I bet that got your attention. Well, I bet it got Tim's attention at least. Truth is, my hubby is my forever hubby. BUT this funny little challenge came up on my Instagram and I thought it was worth doing. Check this out:



Immediately I started mentally writing my sale ad for my hubby. Everyone knows I think he is the bomb. So my sale ad ended up going something like this.


"Offered for your consideration:

This guy is a gem. You won't find one with a better work ethic than he has. He will work all day and all night if you ask him. Will do anything you ask of him and more. Will work the same for anyone. He's got a few years on him, but plenty of good years left. He's the cuddly type. Don't hurt his feelings or he won't work for you. He's a little messy in his stall, but easily forgiven as hard of a worker as he is."


Now I could add more, but I have to admit - thinking of your husband as an animal for sale is a little bit creepy. It was a lot harder to write than I thought. I was like - how do I get across in a sale ad how amazing Tim is and how hard he works for everyone. Let me give you an example of a normal day (well almost completely normal).


There was a day a month or so back where Tim got up at 3:45 to milk. He arrived home from milking around 7:00 to shower and go teach the 6th graders. After teaching he remained at school to work on his AD stuff and then left from school to drive 45 minutes to officiate a varsity basketball game. He arrived home at 11:00 pm. He dropped his stuff, brushed his teeth and was just walking into the bedroom when his fire pager went off and he left on a fire call. I'm not even sure what time he stumbled in to bed, but I believe it was after 1:00 am. The only thing unique about this day was the fire call. This is Tim's life regularly. If he doesn't ref he's doing every little job possible on his to do list at home. And you know me, I always find things to add to his to do list.


Tim no longer gets to sit and relax in front of the TV. His computer is always in his lap or he has taken over the dining room table with his AD calendars and papers. So so so many papers. He listens to all my crazy ideas and does his darndest to make them happen; including spending 3 hours last weekend trying to get my stall cameras to work (SOS - we are not tech savvy people) or building chicken cages. He is beyond a hard worker.


The other day I was chatting with some coworkers at school. The discussion was on significant others. First they asked if I ever say anything that doesn't mean what the literal meaning says. I told them one word. Fine. If I say "it's fine", it is decidely not fine. But then the conversation moved to "what do our significant others do that drives us crazy?" I was keeping quiet because I honestly struggle to think of things when these types of conversations come up. I mean, not putting clothes in the laundry hamper isn't really a big enough deal to drive a person crazy. But when they turned to me I was ready.


"Tim is a helper. Like he will drop everything to help someone who needs help. With anything. Any one of you could call him and ask him for help and he would be there. Need help folding your laundry - Tim would be there." Needless to say, the teasing I got after that was merciless.

"It drives you crazy that your husband is kind?"

"God forbid Tim HELPS people."

"What a horrible guy that Tim, always helping people like a crazy person."


In my defense, I knew as soon as I said it how awful it sounded. But as his wife I worry about him constantly taking on too much. (For the record I worry about everyone, but my immediate family the most.) I worry because he sleeps less than Buddy the Elf and puts too much on his plate. One day when he was driving he had me add three things to his to do list on his phone and I had to scroll through that list like spinning the wheel on the Price is Right. I worry about him burning out, making himself sick and yep - I miss him. But he swears to me that he loves every second of it. I sure hope so. Because I have a few things I really should add to that to do list...


Anyway - my Tim is amazing and I wouldn't sell him for a gazillion (yes, I know I made that up) dollars. He's mine and he's stuck with me. Find your own unicorn husband ladies. I could write pages about how I think he's the moon and stars and everything in between. For now just remember.

Tim works hard.

Tim is a helper.

Tim is mine.

Melissa knows how lucky she is.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page