top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

I'm sick...

Updated: Jan 13, 2022

I'm so sick of political nonsense on social media. I'm so sick of people who flunked out or barely passed civics and American history posting that this or that political leader sounds "like Hitler". From both sides. From people whom have never read or heard one damn word that Hitler actually uttered. Who couldn't tell you one plank in Hitler's platform, but are just SURE that someone giving a speech today sounds just like him. That's like saying because I wrote a poem I sound like Robert Frost or Maya Angelou. I wish but I don't. Or maybe because I sang a song I sound just like Adele. (Now there's a dream...) You can't say things you can't prove. Well, you can but it just makes you look, well... ridiculous.



I'm sick to death of people calling people names on Facebook. Political leaders and my neighbors next door. As soon as you disagree with them politically the insults start slinging around; some old standbys like idiot or the "r" word, and then other newly minted and more creative like snowflake, libtard or redumblicans. We've worked so hard for so long to get people to be kind to each other, especially kids, but how can we expect kids to be kind to each other when they watch adults acting like bullies on social media or at social gatherings. People - learn to use your words respectfully. Learn to disagree civilly and speak without sounding like a grade school bully.


I'm sick of inaccurate memes being shared as fact. Why do people share without fact checking? I have never and will never understand this. And did no one ever teach you how to check a site for legitimacy? Check your sources people. ANYONE can create a website - if I can do it, I promise you it isn't difficult. Just because you read it on the internet, doesn't make it true. www.Trumprocks.com is probably not a legitimate source for factual information. There are many many others that are just as bad, just as inaccurate and just as made up.



I'm sick of biting my tongue. It's so hard not to stick up for fact, history, the truth. Presidents don't affect the gas prices, there is a thing called supply and demand that affects product availability, COVID is a world wide issue - not a government conspiracy, vaccines work and save lives.... so much I'd love to post and respond to. But I have learned the hard way over the last few years - keep politics off of my social media. You literally NEVER change someone's mind by posting or arguing your political views on social media. The only thing you might do is turn people away. I know I don't look at many people the same since they started posting about politics.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page