top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

It's ANOTHER girl

It's yet another happy birth story! She's been here a couple of days already now but I finally have a few minutes to sit down and share the story of how Scoopie made her appearance.


Cher was a miserable 2 weeks and 3 days overdue. She had been waxing for 2 days and had reached the point where she waddled as little as possible and was content to eat and sleep most of the day away. Anyone who has been pregnant can relate to how Cher was feeling. She started waxing (remember from the earlier post that means leaking a tiny bit of colostrom from the nipples which looks like wax) on Saturday and we all rejoiced and decided to stay up all night. Cher spent the night dozing in the corner of her stall. We know, because we all were up watching. The next day Cher was waxing even more, both sides. We were sure she would have the baby Sunday night. I spent another sleepless night. I didn't even have to set my alarms because I was up about every 45 minutes checking the cameras.


When Monday morning rolled around and Cher was still waxing but holding steady, I headed off to work. The entire family was watching the cameras like a hawk though and it was Sophie who saw her first around 8:15. She called to tell me to keep a close eye on the camera because Cher was laying down and getting up a lot. Apparently she was heading into her first class, Lifetime Fitness, and told her teacher that she needed to check her phone because her mare was going to have her baby any time. He asked her if she needed to go and she said she should be good. Two minutes later she checked her phone, saw a foot and out the door she went.


Meanwhile, I checked the camera after Sophie called and also saw Cher lay down and it looked like she was thinking about pushing. Bad news is that she had shoved her rather large booty right up against the wall, making it virtually impossible for the baby to be born. I was running to get someone to cover my class when I thought I had better check the camera again. Maybe she was good. Nope - I could see the start of her bag and she was WAY too close to the wall. Out the door I went leaving a confused group of sixth graders wondering what it meant when I said "she's having the baby and she's too close to the wall."


I would love to say I drove responsibly. I would love to think I drove responsibly. That may not be 100% accurate. I was getting a play by play via a phone call from Libby. Sophie was also driving and she called to tell me that she had a plan for how she was going to push Big Bootie Judy away from the wall. Then Libby called to tell me she had gotten up and repositioned herself, against the other wall of course. But then things progressed quickly and Libby said she could see the baby's head so the camera angle must be tricky and then it was "baby is out" and "Sophie is there". The next words I heard Libby say were "IT'S ANOTHER FILLY!" I asked how the heck she could tell that from the camera and she said she had the sound on and Sophie was on the phone with Tim and told him.


Libby and I hung up and I kept driving - I was almost home. Then Sophie called me crying. Like I usually do, I overreacted and thought something had gone wrong in the few minutes I wasn't on the phone with Libby, but she just was so happy it was a girl they were tears of joy. Sophie got her wish. A red filly. There was only one thing wrong. No Spots.



I got home thinking she would be bummed about a solid filly and she reassured me she was not. She was already planning and excited to show her in the open classes. Not gonna lie though, there were enough curious things about her coloring that we took a few tail hairs and sent it off for testing. Poor Scoopie wasn't even 4 years old and her first genetic tests were in the mailbox. We anxiously await the results but realistically are overjoyed with our stunning red filly no matter what her LP status is.


Sophie has been waiting a long time for this baby. I remember just about 11 months ago when I surprised her with the fact that Jess had bred Sophie's favorite broodmare to her favorite stallion ever, RPRs Impulsive Superman. She cried tears of joy that day too. Cher took her sweet time bringing that little champion into this world, but good things come to those who wait.


Sophie had the name picked out months ago. She has a favorite restaurant, Culvers. When we decided to go with an ice cream barn name theme, Sophie had an easy choice. If you didn't know, Scoopie is the Culver's mascot. So Scoopie it was and Berry Sweet Fantasy because that little red filly is going to make all her dreams come true.



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page