top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Meet Nugget!

I feel like everyone knows about our little Nugget, I've done my best to put him out there on social media. But again, this is a fun story and I sure don't mind sharing again.


It all started in 2020. Remember Covid? Remember when we couldn't go anywhere or do anything? My friend, Jess, was kind enough to invite us down to The Pony Farm for a much needed getaway. We were able to be outside and socially distant but still see all the adorable spotted ponies. One of those newly born spotted babies was baby Nugget. I fell in love with him and joked that he needed to come home with me. We were full up on young stallions at the time though as we already had Charlie and Invy (both his paternal siblings).


A year went by, Charlie had been gelded and moved on to a new family and Invy was not going to be able to be our stallion prospect after all. We didn't hesitate to drive down to the Pony Farm to pick out a new stallion prospect. Jess had two yearlings that she showed me. I bet you're not surprised to hear I loved them both. I literally could not decide but Tim had his favorite. Yes, he will proudly tell everyone that he chose Nugget and he was right. Nugget is the perfect choice for us at Berry Sweet Acres.


That first year we spent some time getting to know Nugget but not asking him to do a lot of anything. We got a wild hair to take him to the last MN POAC show of the season and he was a gem the entire time. Tim tried his first ever in hand trail class. Even though neither of them knew a lot, they still placed 3rd overall. Tim may have picked Nugget, but Nugget definitely picked Tim. Those two are quite the pair. Nugget was also reserve champion yearling stallion. The best part was what a good little boy he was.


And little he stayed. Nugget is truly a little "nugget" at only 49" tall. He is filling out and looking more and more like a mature pony. His little stud cheeks on his tiny little head just make me want to squish him and hug him. It's a good thing he loves attention because he gets lots of it. This past fall/winter I spent some time getting him started under saddle with the help of the smallest rider in our family, Libby. Due to her work/school schedule, his rides have not been consistent, but if nothing else, the work we have done has kept him honest and being the very best boy.


Nugget had one foal in 2023 (that story was in China's blog), Berry Sweet Shenanigans or Nani as we call her. If her looks and disposition are any indication of his future foals, then he will be a Congress producing stallion in no time. Nani was the one of our foal crop last year that everyone notice, everyone wanted and everyone loved. He will have two this coming year. Our Silver Kid daughter, Fi, is due the end of May with a little "Nugget" and Arya went home to Sweet Memories Stables with a little Nugget in the oven. We are excited to cross him on Cher, China and Fi this year. So far we haven't advertised breeding to outside mares but we are working up to it. I want to have a safe space to keep outside mares that are in for breeding. We will also be looking into the possibility of collecting him in the future. For now, if you'd like a Nugget of your own - check our Berry Sweet Acres page for babies that are available each year.


Nugget's story is just beginning. I think, I guess maybe I hope, that someday people will hear the name "Super Cool" in a pedigree and KNOW that the baby is going to be outstanding. Some day I hope that Super Cool will be synonymous with success. I've used the phrase "a brand new legacy" to describe our farm and I hope that Nugget is the one to help us create that legacy.



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page