top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Merry Christmas!

It was Christmas Eve and the full moon was lighting up the barnyard. The cool moon’s light reflected all the new fallen snow making it easier for the animals to see each other and visit across the fence lines of their pasture. Several of the younger ponies were nearly asleep when Juju started barking, startling them all awake.

“Ugh, dog. Stop it! There is nothing out there. I have just as good hearing and smell as you do and I don’t sense a thing,” the boss mare, China, growled out to Juju.

Juju sat down sheepishly, her little stub of a tail quivering in the snow. “Sorry China, just trying to keep you all and the ducks and chickens safe.”

Cher shook her mane and chuckled, “we know good girl. China just thinks she needs her beauty sleep since she is an expectant momma now. No more horse shows for her.”

Elsie and Pepper laughed from their pastures. “Yeah China, you’re fat! We get to be the pampered show ponies now!”

Elsie added, “And I went to my first Congress this year. Mercy and I had a blast with Melissa and Sophie and we even brought home some awards too. We had a great year horse showing. Melissa said I have even won more buckles than you have China! We can’t wait to show with our new buddies; Reba, Nugget and Kisses in 2022.”

China smirked sarcastically, “jokes on both of you. I get to stand around and eat and eat and eat. Sounds like I got the better deal.”

Cookie, Cher and Fi, the other broodmares, smiled to themselves. “Yeah, it’s a pretty sweet gig except for the vet checks, shots, and let’s not forget the whole labor and delivery part. But then you get to send them off to their new families and hear how great they are doing from Melissa. She loves sharing stories from all the new homes of our babies. She is super proud of them and their new owners.” Of course Cher had to add, “and my boy Boogie even made it into the national point standings this year.” Fi rolled her eyes and Cookie chuckled.

Nugget pouted, “I miss Melissa doing chores. She always called me her favorite boy and gave me hugs and kisses.”

Kisses laughed loud and long before responding, “you’re her ONLY boy silly! Of course you’re the favorite boy. Melissa will be back soon. She had surgery on her foot and Tim is being pretty strict about her following orders and not crutching around on the ice and the snow. Of course he’s super busy now that he has added being the athletic director at DE onto his other list of jobs like part-time dairy farmer, sixth grade teacher, basketball/football official and track coach. Thank goodness Libby and Sophie are able to help out with chores since he is so busy.”

Pepper had to share her inside information. “Sophie is my girl and I’m super proud of her. She’s making the most of her senior year and was All Conference and Academic All Conference for volleyball and won the hustle award. She’s super busy with basketball and school right now so I don’t get to see her as much as I would like but that doesn’t mean she’s not still my favorite person.”

Kisses responded, “yeah, well that bigger sister Libby isn’t my favorite person. She wants to do this riding thing. I thought when Melissa had surgery I would get a break too like everyone else. Not so much I guess. But I am proud of her promotion at work. I know she loves working at Mayo Clinic. Even if they are busy and doing this “overtime” thing she’s always talking about.”

All of a sudden they heard the door on the house slam and Tim came out to shut the doors to the chicken and duck coops. Off Juju and Jinx scampered to the barn for the night. He looked in each pasture and they all gazed back at him hopeful for another pitchfork full of hay. He patted Nugget on the neck and headed back into the warm house. No sooner had the door shut behind him when Cookie nipped Nugget on the butt and sent him scampering across the dry lot. “You’re so spoiled by him. I know, I know - you’re the pony that got Tim into the show ring. It is nice for Tim to have his very own show pony.”

Nugget nodded but made sure he stayed clear of Cookie’s teeth. “Yep. He hopes to continue to show me in the in hand trail and lungeline classes next year. I hope I can always remember to be a good boy.”

Cookie smirked, “you might be the favorite boy now, but I think that new puppy, Mojo, might give you a run for your money. Everyone thinks he is the cutest thing ever. You better be cuter.” She laughed and the other ponies joined in at Nugget’s expense.

He pouted for a while before glaring at Elsie, “stop your laughing. The way Melissa talks about Kisses, your favorite pony status might be in trouble too!” Elsie made a move to strike at Nugget but he was safe on the other side of the fence.

China stopped her foot and neighed to get their attention. “Enough! This is not the spirit of Christmas at all. We should be remembering how we are loved and sharing kind thoughts. I’m thankful for all our family including Carter and Taylin who don’t visit us enough but are always in our hearts. Carter works so hard at all of his jobs. I’m thankful for good hay and great vets who keep us healthy. I’m thankful that our family has great jobs, good friends and are healthy and able to tell me I’m the queen.” The others who had been nodding along with China rolled their eyes at the ending. “Now to bed with you all. Tomorrow is Christmas morning where we celebrate the birth of the kindest human of all, Jesus. Let’s try to remember the lessons he taught our family tonight, tomorrow and all the year to come.” The other ponies knew not to argue with China and closed their sleepy eyes and drifted off to sleep as China stood watch and gazed over the moonlit snow to the brightest star in the sky. “Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night.”



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page