top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Poetry for kicks

Updated: Apr 8, 2022

We are smack dab in the middle of our poetry unit here in the sixth grade. This means I get to write poetry as examples. YAY! Today was free verse poetry. The biggest thing I struggle with sixth graders is that, after harping at them all year to write in complete sentences, we get to poetry and they can't stop writing in complete sentences. So I made an example free verse poem and of course, guess what was on my mind:


"Waiting"

Waiting

Boxes on the calendar

Cross off one

Two

Three

And on

No baby


Night checks

Bundle up

Trudge

Snow

Mud

Back to sleep

No baby


Cleaning stalls

Check the mare

Wax?

No

Not yet

Still none

No baby


Groans

Not me, it's her

Huge

Slow

Dragging

Still waiting

No baby


How many days?

check the calendar

350

353

359

Need sleep

No baby


Oh no!

I forgot

alarm

not

set

Guess what?

Baby!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page