top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Take 2: Let the Secret Out

Last night, Libby and I went live on Facebook again. This time we discussed what a POA is - breed characteristics/requirements and what a POA can do. We had our little cheat sheet of things we wanted to talk about and we still got a little off track at times and still went down a few rabbit holes of discussing things like the LP gene and POA versatility compared to other breeds.


In the preview and reminder blogs and videos I had hinted that we may bring up controversial topics. One of the controversial subjects that we did bring up was about the hardship pony/Appaloosa. In POA, if you hardship a pony into the showing side of our association - it can be a gelding or a mare. The mare does not have breeding "rights" per se as a POA. Her foals would have to also be hardshipped once they reach the age of 2. (I believe it is 2 - would need to double check that to be sure). IF the horse is a registered Appaloosa that just didn't get very tall, meets the color and characteristic requirements and is under 56" - it can be hardshipped into POA with full breeding and showing rights.


HOWEVER, the Appaloosa association doesn't quite see it the same way. They do not allow mares to be hardshipped into the association UNLESS they are spayed. Geldings are fine to show and stallions of course would have to be gelded. I proposed that maybe the mares, instead of having to be spayed, simply be given "show only" papers. I'm sure there are other people in the same boat as me, looking at their beautiful overheight POA and wishing they could show her in the Appaloosa classes, but wanting to keep breeding her to make POA babies as an option. I do not want to breed Sundae and make Appaloosa babies, but someday she will be a tremendous asset to the POA breed. I will not spay her - she is too nice for that. Also, spaying is expensive! It makes me sad that Appaloosa doesn't want to increase the number of horses at their shows by allowing POA overheight ponies to show. EXCEPT geldings of course. They are okay with geldings... make that make sense.


I was quickly put in my place and told that Appaloosa folks do not want pony blood in their breed. I was told to "fix" my own association and not try to change their association. (Funny thing - I was an Appaloosa member and I did show at an Appaloosa show so "their" association was also my association but I digress.) No matter how many times I tried to make it clear that I'm not asking for our nasty "pony blood" to contaminate their breed - I'm simply asking to be able to spend my money and show at their shows- I don't think I made myself clear.


There is nothing wrong with the POA association rule. It's a pony breed. I took a chance on breeding China to a stallion who made a baby that was just a bit too tall. It was worth the risk when I see how wicked cool Sundae is. That's on me, not POA. I just thought I would look at other avenues to show my big pony. Don't worry - Pinto was more than happy to take my money and allow me to show there. I mean, duh - money talks and bull.... walks, right?


Anywho.... I told you we would ruffle a few feathers in last night's Facebook live. It just seems to be something we are good at. You can find the live on my personal page and our Berry Sweet Acres - maybe someday I will even learn how to upload them to youtube. For now - tune in next week at 6:00 when we talk about what we mean when we say POA is the DIY breed.




4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page