top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

The Pony Farm visit

Last week Tim thought he would be a nice guy and suggested taking the girls off our farm to visit The Pony Farm in IA. He made sure to tell us that we would be taking the car and that it wasn't a shopping trip. Silly Tim, I told him that POA ponies can be tiny and maybe would fit in the backseat anyway. They don't just have ponies there either. They have mini cows and goats and alpacas and... Oh how I wish they were closer! Even I'm not crazy enough to try to hold a pony on my lap for a 5 hour drive.


Speaking of ponies - there were so many beautiful spotted ponies to look at! Jess and Susie have several outstanding stallions, and of course we have our favorites. I'm sure you can tell from the two stallions standing in my pasture that we are big fans of their "Manny", RPRs Impulsive Superman. But the fangirl crushes don't stop there. I'm also a big fan of The Impulsive Kid "Casper" and their young solid stallion, "Sam" Super Natural. I bet you can guess which one is Casper pictured below. (Haha)




The pony love doesn't stop at stallions though. There were several broodmares of every shade and every color pattern and then there were the two year olds and the yearlings. Duns! I love a red dun. Palominos, bays, chestnuts, sorrels, fewspots, leopards, blankets and every color in between. A person could write a book about Appaloosa coat patterns just using the variety found in their pastures. I loved the inquisitive yearlings that wanted to be friends. But the best part of any visit to a pony farm are the babies! I think the girls and I all had our favorites. We got to see babies that were by 4 of their stallions. The Manny babies were still my favorite but what a tough choice.




It was great having my daughter who is a budding photographer along to have photographic evidence of our amazing day. We spent longer there than we planned and felt a little guilty for monopolizing so much of a beautiful day. We can't thank Jess and Susie enough for the mental health day that was just what the doctor ordered. I've shared a few of my favorite pics, but the whole album is on Libby's Facebook page, Liberty Rose Visuals. If you see something you like, most of those ponies are for sale! Jess and Susie are honest sellers, who love to answer questions and share their ponies. Bring a trailer, you won't be disappointed.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page