top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

The Sum of Stuff.

It's year end award season and we were part of several circuits this year. For year end awards, our family was eligible for awards in the state POA clubs of IA, WI and MN. We were also eligible for national year end awards for POA. With Elsie being with her new family now, I thought I would tally up our 2022 awards with the previous 2 seasons to see what Elsie has won overall.


If a show pony's career with a person can be counted by the prizes they have won, then Elsie has been the most amazing pony I have ever owned. But for me, I feel like Elsie was more to me than the sum of stuff she won me. She taught me so many life lessons, so many training tips, so many things that no counting of ribbons or trophies could ever come close to quantifying what Elsie meant to me. I've said it before, but I will say it again, she was a once in a lifetime pony. I've never ridden a horse as good or as broke as she was. I've never ridden a pony who did everything I asked, when I asked it and to the best of her ability. Elsie made me feel safe when I rode her, but more than that, riding Elsie gave me wings. Of course I miss her, but I also cannot wait to see her do the same for her new little girl. There will be more ponies in my barn, but there will only be one Elsie.


So let's reflect. 2020 hardly counts as a show "season" for anyone. Many many shows were cancelled due to Covid and the season got going late for everyone. I got Elsie in August and we only attended 3 shows. When I got her, she had around 30 days and we learned a lot together at those 3 shows. They were mostly just to get her out and exposed to the show scene before our first season showing POA. But she started right off amazing me with winning some classes in those first 3 shows as the greenest green pony in the pen. 2021 was our first year showing seriously and our family's first year fully committed to being back in POA.


From those first scary green pony shows to our last Spooktacular show together, Elsie never stopped amazing me. I wanted to take a picture of all of Elsie's awards together, but when I started tallying up everything - I realized that many things were spread far and wide around the farm and in use. As much as I didn't want to go collect everything, even more so - I didn't want to have to put it all back. Yep - I'm that lazy. So what all did Elsie win in our 2 POA show seasons?


Well, besides a small mountain of ribbons....



9 buckles

Tony Lama computer bag

Wegner headstall and reins

3 glass mugs

2 water bottles

Trophy saddle rack

3 Congress trophies

1 futurity trophy (I never kept track of the $$ in futurity checks - oops.)

Large tote bag

Duffle bag

2 MN POAC pillows

1 leather pillow from IA POAC

2 directors chairs

2 hat cans

2 slow feed nets

9 wood charcuterie boards

Plaid blanket

Gift certificate to LOF tack

Feed scoop

3 fold up travel blankets

2 saddle pads

a leather zip up binder

and a partridge in a pear tree....

From our first blue ribbon (above) to our last high point award, Elsie never stopped surprising me with what she could accomplish. I hope that her new family wins piles more awards over the years. Elsie was that once in a lifetime pony for me and now she is ready to take her new little girl to the winner's circle.

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page