top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Unpopular Opinion #49582

I feel like I have a lot of opinions that differ from the vast majority. Normally I keep those to myself, or maybe I have good intentions of keeping it to myself. But this one today, I was truly shocked to find that I am in the minority with this one. So someone posted this:



There were dozens of shocked and offended people in the comments saying they would never! They were appalled at the notion even. Meanwhile I was just as shocked that no one, or maybe just no one brave enough, posted they would sell their pet for $250,000. I immediately did a reality gut check to see if my first response was way off base. Maybe I couldn't do it. Gosh knows I had Cookie virtually sold once and backed out because I just couldn't sell her yet. But for $250,000 - I'd load her up, throw in a halter and possibly a herd mate.


Everyone knows how I feel about China and Elsie, my heart horse and pony. I love my two sassy ladies. Elsie can be harder to love because "loving" isn't exactly in her character description. But even China, who has been with me longer than almost any horse I've owned, I would sell for $250,000. Actually, she has a much lower price tag than that. Is it more than the market says she worth? Yes. Is it anywhere near $250,000? Not even close.


I honestly need to understand this. Is there something wrong with me? I love my animals. I have called vets so often for every random sniffle and misstep that they have me saved in their phones. (Probably to avoid my calls) I purchase the most random and unnecessary items to spoil them. They make me cry, laugh, smile, groan and cheer. I feel like I live in a constant state of anxiety about one or the other of them. But I would still sell them for $250,000 without even thinking twice. $250,000 is a lot of money to our family. It pays for college, vehicles, mortgages, food and healthcare.


Maybe those who say they wouldn't sell can afford to say that? Maybe they haven't been at the point where they used two boxes of Hamburger Helper to one pound of hamburger. Maybe they haven't wondered where the mortgage payment was going to come from or how long they can not pay the electric bill before they shut it off. Maybe they haven't gone home at noon to put wood in the wood stove and skipped lunch so that they LP heat wouldn't have to run. Maybe they haven't shopped exclusively at Goodwill and sold everything that you owned that was for sale. Maybe they haven't worked two jobs, 80 hours a week. Maybe they haven't wondered how much you can get for a kidney and if a person really need two. Okay, maybe I'm exaggerating a little, but there were some hard decisions made in my past that led us to have a much more realistic view on pets and animals in our lives.


I guess maybe it comes down to the fact that those who say they wouldn't sell can afford to say they wouldn't sell. Or maybe I'm just heartless. When I think of how that money could help the human members of my family, the choice is easy for me. Anyone want to give me $250,000? You can pick the pet.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page