top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Waiting on a mare to foal

I've been doing really really good. I promise. I have watched all the babies being born and celebrated each happy delivery. I have commented and liked each adorable baby picture. I have been so excited for my friends in the horse world as their adorable little ones are arriving and ooohed and aaahed over all of the baby videos and pics. I didn't get impatient ONCE.



I am glad that our mares are due later this year. Really I am. That has been the only thing keeping me patient. The weather has been nasty. We have had one of the longest stretches in MN history of days that have not reached 50 degrees. However, next week is going to be beautiful. They are predicting daytime temps in the 70's. The snow is almost all gone, just some big drifts here and there that need to go. It is officially spring time thunderstorm weather. Grass is greening up and by next week we should see some tulips, crocuses and daffodils sprouting. So.... I'm officially getting impatient.



I've tried to be content with thinking about registered names, barn names, designing baby announcements, etc... Our first mare is due next Wednesday. One week. I knew going into this planning that Cher is notoriously at least a week overdue. Her momma was notoriously a week overdue. Cher likes to wait at least a week. So really we are looking at two weeks from d-day. BUT C'MON CHER! She has the babyiest of baby bags and isn't looking like she has any interest in having her foal any time soon other than her giant sighs every time she has to move a step. Arya, who is just a few days later, is also playing the *yawn* game and telling us she isn't ready to be a momma yet. She may look like the "great pumpkin", but she's keeping her little baby pumpkin a secret for now. I keep telling them that they better be using this extra time to put lots of loud color and FILLY parts on their babies. They keep looking at me like I'm crazy. (Hey - no comments from the peanut gallery over there.)



Let's be honest. I'm getting impatient. I've been trying to be patient. But I'm impatient. Did I mention I'm impatient? It still isn't the best time to have their foals. I'd love for the grass to be growing and thick, the sun to be shining and the threat of snow to be a forgotten winter memory. Less mud and cleaned dry lots would be nice. We are way behind where we could normally be in the spring cleanup game thanks to MN weather this year. Obviously the mares know better than I do. However....I'm impatient. Time to check my foaling kit again, clean foaling stalls again and work on baby announcements again. Anything to help ease the waiting on foals and the anxiety that comes with each passing day.


Keep sharing your happy foaling stories and pics. They keep me from losing my mind. And here's hoping that someday soon I have some to share with all of you too!


*Bonus - If you read the blog and came via Facebook - post your guess on our barn name theme in the comments. I've been trying to drop hints for the last month or so.




70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page