top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

What crutches showed me...

So if you've seen me out and about any time since November 10th, you've seen me first on a knee scooter and then on crutches as I heal up from my bunion/hammer toe surgery. While my sixth graders thought the knee scooter looked like loads of fun, let me just say - it was not. It was hard to turn, tippy, hard to travel over any kind of not completely smooth surface, and hard to maneuver in small spaces. But what it was was LOADS, leaps and bounds, lightning years, better than crutches.


Getting around on crutches ....for lack of a better word... sucks. Big Time. You're unbalanced, slow, and just when you think you're getting in a rhythm you catch one on something and almost go flying. That's all BEFORE your arms get annoyingly sore and tired and you just kind of want to sit and not move for the rest of your life.


But being on crutches for a few weeks did teach me a few lessons. I thought I'd share some observations I made during that time for possible future reference.


  1. Doors are heavy and for some reason the strength of the auto close hinges in unreal. Doors are a real challenge for people with crutches. ALWAYS hold the door if you see someone with crutches.

  2. If you lose faith in the kindness of strangers, go out for the day with crutches. People everywhere have held doors for me, waited patiently for me to cross streets, sidewalks, aisles and struck up conversations with me. I have met so many incredibly kind people. I will miss seeing the very best in people every time I go to the grocery store. But maybe, I'll just have to look a little harder.

  3. Newly built or remodeled schools have the entrances a LONG ways away from the parking lot and heck - even a long ways away from the street. What's with giant front courtyards before you can even get to the building? It's Minnesota. Close is better people. MUCH better. Especially when you're on crutches. Crutches and the snow/ice - don't get me started.

  4. Crutches slip on wet floors. Super easy. And lightning fast. Be very careful if you ever have to use crutches yourself and wipe, wipe, wipe your shoes on rugs when you enter buildings if you can.

  5. Leaning forward helps you keep going forward on your crutches. It also makes you much more likely to plummet face first towards the pavement when you become unbalanced.

  6. You are much more likely to spot loose change on the ground when you are on crutches. A few days on crutches and you learn to be constantly scanning the ground for possible dangers; wet spots, cracks in the cement, slight bumps or loose gravel and ... spare change. The bad side is that it is so much work to reach down and get it that you will probably just crutch on by anyway.

  7. When you can't reach someone or something - crutches do actually come in handy. My fellow teachers got a big kick out of me sitting on my stool and pointing to the board behind me using my crutches. Yes, they are good for something.

Lastly, I am so thankful to be done with crutches. I am so thankful to everyone who was beyond helpful and kind as I struggled through the last 8 weeks. I'm so thankful to be on the track towards being done with crutches, hopefully forever.




13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page