top of page
Search
Writer's pictureberrysweetacres

Why do you show?

There was a barrel racer on Tik Tok that posted a video the other day asking why do we pleasure people show if we can't win money. She went so far as to say that she understands that we can win awards but... in her words, "your stuff isn't even that great" and "what do I win, another buckle?" (said with a sneer.) I do understand that there is a big difference between running for a check and horse showing the way we do for high points, ribbons and year end awards. There is something that I feel the need to explain something really simply here...


If you're showing in whatever discipline you choose because you want to WIN something, you are doing it for the wrong reasons. Those wrong reasons will motivate you to make bad choices for your ethical being and or your horse's health and happiness. You will be disappointed. Not all the time, but a lot of the time. Simply put, if you're showing to get stuff - you're doing it wrong.


Now, that said.... if you're saying to yourself, "yeah, but if I'm going to compete I would rather win money than awards" I see what you're saying. But here's my issue with that - I honestly don't care if I win and don't get anything. In the day when we would open show, I would tell clubs they could keep their ribbons and their trophies. They were fun, they were great for the photo op and then I would return them to the office. I love the awards I've gotten over the years. Last year I won a vacuum that I use at least once a week on our hardwood floors. I didn't even know that I was missing out until I won it. I thought the Swiffer was the way to go. Thanks to IA POAC, my floors are so much cleaner. It makes keeping ahead of the dog hair even possible. I love my bag from Congress. I use it every day to bring my grading and materials back and forth to school. It's leather so it's coffee colored for the times when I spill coffee on it. (I wish I could say that was less often than it is.) We use our hay bags every single time we load in the trailer and stall at a show. I use my coats, vests, saddle, headstalls, etc... regularly. And the buckles... I look at them almost every day and I'm reminded of the shows, classes, and ponies that won me those beautiful buckles. Those memories that come flooding back when I use my "stuff" are worth more to me that a check put into the bank account and spent on toilet paper and paper towels. But maybe that's because I don't show to win those things - they were an added bonus/souvenir of the real reason I show.


I show to spend time with my friends and family. I show to try to do better each time we hit the entry gates. I show to see if I can teach my pony a new skill or perfect an old one. I show because I love to set goals and see if I can beat them. I show because I love to ride and try to challenge myself. If I was worried about getting stuff, I'd be in trouble. The one show I did try to win a saddle karma bit me in the butt and I messed up regularly. Let's be honest - a pleasure show is all about opinions. If my happiness was in the hands of those folks sharing their opinions, I could be in very big trouble.


When people don't understand why we horse show because you can't win lots of money, I love to ask them why they go camping? Do they win a lot of money doing that? Or crocheting? Win big bucks doing that? How about playing men's league basketball? Summer softball? Rock collecting? Bird watching? Why does my hobby have to earn me money? Does yours?


What my hobby/sport does pay me in is time spent with my loved ones; friends and family alike. It pays me in life lessons and pony snuggles. I get paid oodles of laughs had with friends. I have earned a thousand battle scars that made a better horsewoman, a better rider and a better, more patient, person. I have a savings account full of stories to share and memories to keep. I don't begrudge you your checks in the bank but I'll keep my treasures in my heart.




38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page